I compiled this short prayer to keep the wisdom of the Bodhicharyavatara close to me daily and spur me on.

To those who go in bliss, the dhammakaya they possess, and all their heirs,
To all those worthy of respect, I reverently bow. (1,1)

To the Buddhas, those Thus Gone,
And to the sacred Dhamma, spotless and supremely rare,
And to the Buddha’s offspring, oceans of good qualities,
That I might gain this precious attitude, I make a perfect offering. (2,1)

Until the essence of enlightenment is reached,
I go for refuge to the Buddhas.
Also I take refuge in the Dhamma
And in all the host of Bodhisattvas. (2, 26)

To perfect Buddhas and to Bodhisattvas,
In all directions where they may reside,
To them who are the sovereigns of great mercy,
I press my palms together, praying thus: (2,27)

“In this and all my other lives,
While turning in the round without beginning,
Blindly I have brought forth evil,
And incited others to commit the same. (2,28)

“Deceived and overmastered by my ignorance,
I have taken pleasure in the harm that was done,
And seeing now the blame of it,
O great protectors, I confess it earnestly! (2,29)

Thus, from this day forward I take refuge
In the Buddhas, guardians of beings,
Who labor to protect all wanderers,
Those mighty ones who scatter every fear. (2,47)

And in the Dhamma they have realized in their hearts,
Which drives away the terrors of samsara,
And in all the host of Bodhisattvas
Likewise I will perfectly take refuge. (2,48)

I pray you, guides and guardians of the world,
in taking my negative acts as having been misdeeds, I beseech you:
Since this was not wholesome,
I shall never do them again. (2,65)

With joy I celebrate the virtue that relieves all beings
From the sorrows of the states of loss,
Exulting in the happy states enjoyed
By those who yet are suffering. (3,1)

And so I join my hands and pray
The Buddhas who reside in every quarter:
Kindle now the Dhamma’s light
For those who grope, bewildered, in the dark of pain! (3,5)

I join my hands beseeching the enlightened ones
Who wish to pass into nibbana:
Do not leave us wandering in blindness,
Stay among us for unnumbered ages! (3,6)

Through these actions now performed
And all the virtues I have gained,
May all the pain of every living being
Be wholly scattered and destroyed! (3,7)

My body, thus, all my goods besides,
All my merits gained and to be gained,
I give them all and do not count the cost,
To bring about the benefit of beings. (3,11)

May I be a guard for those who are protectorless,
A guide for those who journey on the road.
For those who wish to cross the water,
May I be a boat, a raft, a bridge. (3,18)

Just as all the Buddhas of the past
Have brought forth the awakened mind (3,23)

Likewise, for the benefit of beings,
I will bring to birth the awakened mind (3,24)

The appearance of the Buddhas in the world,
True faith and the attainment of a human form,
An aptitude for good: all these are rare.
When will they come to me again? (4,15)

This is why Lord Buddha has declared
That like a turtle that perchance can place
Its head within a yoke adrift upon the mighty sea
This human birth is difficult to find! (4, 20)

And so, according to my promise, I will act attentively. (4,12)
And yet the mighty fiend of my afflictions
Flings me in an instance headlong down (4,31)

Anger, lust, these enemies of mine
Handless, footless, and devoid of other faculties.
They have no bravery, no cleverness;
How then have they reduced me to such slavery? (4,28)

I allow them within my mind
And at their pleasure injure me (4,29)

From this day forth I’ll strive to crush
These foes who very nature is to bring me pain (4, 38)

This shall be my all-consuming passion.
Filled with rancor I will wage my war!
Such emotion, though indeed defilement,
Will destroy defilement, and I will not spurn it. (4,43)

Defilements are not in the object,
Nor within the faculties, nor somewhere in between

They are simple mirages, so take heart! (4,47)

Those who wish to keep the trainings
Must with perfect self-possession guard their minds. (5,1)

Wandering where it will, the elephant of the mind,
Will bring us down to torment in the hell of Unrelenting Pain. (5,2)

If, with mindfulness’ rope,
The elephant of mind is tethered all around,
Our fears will come to nothing,
Every virtue drop into our hands. (5,3)

For all anxiety and fear,
And pain in boundless quantity,
Their source and wellspring is the mind itself,
As He who spoke the truth declared. (5,6)

By simple binding of this mind alone,
All these things are likewise bound.
By simple taming of this mind alone,
All these things are likewise tamed. (5,5)

But let me just restrain my mind,
And what is left to be restrained? (5,14)

All those who fail to understand
The secret of the mind, the greatest of all things,
Although they wish for joy and sorrow’s end,
Will wander to no purpose, uselessly. (5,17)

Therefore I will take in hand
And well protect this mind of mine. (5,18)

When the urge arises in your mind
To feelings of desire or angry hate
Do not act! Do not speak!
And like a log of wood be sure to stay. (5,48)

Examining again and yet again
The state and actions of your body and your mind-
This alone defines in brief
The maintenance of watchful introspection. (5,108)

But all this must be acted out in truth,
For what is to be gained by mouthing syllables?
What invalid was ever helped
By merely reading in the doctor’s treatises? (5,109)

